ARE YOU A DUI ATTORNEY?
Find out how to join our network

Find a Local DUI Lawyer

State

City

 

In Wyoming, you have
20 days to act!

In Wyoming, you only have 20 days for your attorney to request a hearing to contest your license suspension. Failure to do so will result in an automatic suspension with no further recourse available.

Did You Know?

These things can cause a false result in a breath test:
• Mints
• Gum disease
• Wonder Bread
• High protein diets
• A recent burp
• Dentures
• A tongue piercing

Don't take a chance. Contact a qualified DUI attorney today for a free consultation.

.

Most Searched Cities

Find a Wyoming DUI Attorney

City
OR
County

Information on DUI in Wyoming

Request a hearing within 20 days or automatically lose your license

If you have been charged with a DUI in Wyoming, you are probably feeling embarrassed, confused, angry and afraid of what is to come.   The arrest process can indeed be demoralizing and this is when you need someone with knowledge about the process at your side to guide you through.  A lawyer who specializes in DUI defense can make sure you’re treated fairly and protect your legal rights.  The DUI laws have gotten so complex and intertwined that it’s unreasonable to expect most people to be able to decipher them, but an experienced Wyoming DUI attorney will know the specifics of the laws and can understand the science associated with defending against them.

In Wyoming, you will be charged and arrested if you are driving with a blood alcohol concentration of .08 or higher.  This charge is solely based on a chemical test of your body and has no bearing at all on your driving.  In theory, you could be stopped for a tail light infraction, agree to a breath test because you know your driving is perfect, and fail it.  Once you fail the roadside test, you’ll be arrested.  Again, this has nothing to do with your driving.  You can also be arrested based merely on the officer’s observations on such things as your driving, your demeanor, slurred speech or red eyes.  This particular charge hinges only on the officer’s opinion and nothing related to any blood test evidence.  Basically, both of these reasons for arrest mean that if you have been drinking at all and are stopped for any reason, there is a chance you will be arrested.  A skilled Wyoming DUI lawyer will be able to get you the best possible result in your case.  Remember, an arrest is not a conviction.

Upon your arrest, the officer will take your driver’s license and give you a suspension notice.  You will have only 20 days to request a hearing with the Department of Transportation to contest your suspension.  Failure to do so will result in an automatic suspension with no further recourse available.  You will simultaneously be facing a court case for your DUI arrest.  The outcome of the court case will determine the amount of fines, fees and court costs, any remedial alcohol education programs and jail time.  Note that even if your attorney achieves an innocent verdict for you in the court case, the license suspension by the DOT will remain in place.  Do not take a chance with your future.  It is critical that you contact a local Wyoming DUI attorney right away for a free consultation on your case.  Get your questions answered and gain some peace of mind.  It is your right.

WYOMING is a member of the
INTERSTATE DRIVER'S LICENSE COMPACT

If you are arrested outside your home state, be sure to ask your attorney how this law will impact you.

The penalties listed below are called for by statute, are not complete, and can often be removed or reduced significantly with the assistance of a local Wyoming  DUI attorney.

FIRST OFFENSE
• Incarceration –up to 6 months jail
• Fines – up to $750 plus court costs
• License Suspension – 90 days plus reinstatement fee $50
• Education – substance abuse assessment at your expense up to $150
• Insurance – SR22 high-risk driver insurance required for 3-5 years; necessary before license reinstatement
• Ignition Interlock Device – required 6 months for BAC .15 or test refusal; at your expense, approx $500-$800   

ADDITIONAL COSTS AND CONSEQUENCES
• Bail – set by the court, required for release
• Towing – tow fee $75 to $100 plus additional fee for daily storage
• Insurance – you will be designated as a high risk driver and your insurance will increase significantly.  Expect your rates to double or more.
• Record – DUI conviction will remain on driving record permanently
• Employment – offender may lose time off work and possibly even their job.
• Immigration and travel – restrictions can apply with certain convictions

Additional offenses and considerations will bring significantly higher penalties including up to 2 years jail and fines of $10,000.  Don’t take a chance with your freedom.  It is highly recommended that you contact a qualified DUI attorney right away for a FREE CONSULTATION on your case.  It is possible your case CAN be won with the right representation.

Wyoming Counties


© 2017 goDWI All Rights Reserved