ARE YOU A DUI ATTORNEY?
Find out how to join our network

Find a Local DUI Lawyer

State

City

 

In Vermont, you have
7 days to act!

In Vermont, you only have 7 days for your attorney to request a hearing to contest your license suspension. Failure to do so will result in an automatic suspension with no further recourse available.

Did You Know?

You can be arrested and charged with DUI in Vermont while driving a snowmobile or ATV.

Don't take chances. Contact a qualified Vermont DUI attorney for a free consultation.

.

Most Searched Cities

Find a Vermont DUI Attorney

City
OR
County

Information on DUI in Vermont

Request a hearing within 7 days or lose your license.

Vermont DUI laws are among the strictest in the nation and local law enforcement agencies are aggressive in pursuing infractions.  If you are facing a DUI in Vermont, you should take the charge very seriously.  No longer merely a traffic citation where you get a ticket and appear in court later, a DUI is now a criminal offense, and the current laws call for immediate arrest.  There are two ways you can be charged for DUI in Vermont.  One is by violating Vermont’s per se law which has a BAC (blood alcohol content) of .08 while driving in order to be charged.  Note that the per se law does not consider your driving ability or level of impairment.  The other way you may be charged is based on the observations made by the peace officer.  If it is determined, by opinion, that you are driving impaired and unable to safely control your vehicle, you can also be charged.  There are a number of factors used to judge your ability, including swerving, slow acceleration at intersections, frequent braking or wide turns. 

You may be presented with two separate legal cases against you after your arrest.  The first will be a criminal case to be tried in court.  The outcome of this case will determine jail time, fines and fees and alcohol education or treatment programs.  The second case will be applied by the DMV and will handle the suspension and reinstatement of your license, as well as any points to be added to your license.  These are complicated issues and it is not in your best interest to attempt to go to court without representation from a qualified local DUI attorney with experience in the Vermont laws.  Vermont is different than most other states with regard to its look back period in that it doesn’t have one.  Most states significantly increase current penalties if you have had a prior DUI  within a period of 5 to 10 years.  Vermont has no such time restriction, instead it considers offenses from your entire lifetime, including offenses from other states.  

Getting a DUI can affect your life for a long time.  You can be facing jail time, large fines, loss of your license and significant stress and embarrassment.  If driving is an integral part of your work, you could also lose your job.  It is not worth taking the chance on your future to proceed through the system without an experienced specialist by your side.  Contact a local Vermont DUI attorney as soon as possible for a free consultation regarding your case.

VERMONT is a member of the
INTERSTATE DRIVER'S LICENSE COMPACT

If you are arrested outside your home state, be sure to ask your attorney how this law will impact you.

The penalties listed below are called for by statute, are not complete, and can often be removed or reduced significantly with the assistance of a local Vermont DUI attorney.

FIRST OFFENSE
• Incarceration – up to 2 years in jail
• Fines & Fees – up to $750 plus minimum $160 in various DUI surcharges
• License Suspension – minimum 90 days with $75 reinstatement fee to DMV
• Insurance – high risk driver SR22 insurance required before license reinstated
• Education – Project CRASH, alcohol and driving education program, includes assessment for license restoration

ADDITIONAL COSTS AND CONSEQUENCES
• Bail – set by the court, required before being released after being arrested
• Towing  – towing fee approximately $75 plus additional daily storage fees
• Insurance –as a designated “high risk” driver, your rates will be raised significantly by your insurance company, possibly even doubling for several years.
• Record – DUI conviction will remain on driving record permanently
• Employment – offender may lose time off work and possibly even their job.
• Immigration and travel – restrictions can apply with certain convictions.

Additional offenses will bring significantly higher penalties, up to 5 years in prison,  $2,500 in fines or both.  Don’t take a chance with your freedom.  It is highly recommended that you contact a qualified local DUI attorney right away for a FREE CONSULTATION on your case.  It is possible your case CAN be won with the right representation. 

Vermont Counties


© 2017 goDWI All Rights Reserved