Find out how to join our network

Find a Local DUI Lawyer





More than 24,000 citizens are arrested for DUI each year in Tennessee. Some of them have their brother in law, the recent law school graduate, handle their DUI case.

Not everybody makes great decisions 100% of the time. Don't take a chance with your right to drive. Contact an experienced DUI attorney today for a free consultation.


Most Searched Cities

Find a Tennessee DUI Attorney


Information on DUI in Tennessee

Keep Your Freedom. Fight Your DUI. Your Case Can Be Won.

If you are facing a DUI, you are probably experiencing a whole range of emotions.  The prospect of not knowing what to expect can be frightening.  The threshold for DUI is a BAC (breath alcohol content) of .08 in Tennessee.  If you test out at .08 you will be arrested and taken to jail.  Another way you can be arrested in Tennessee is if an arresting officer believes you to be unable to control your vehicle due to being under the influence.  A DUI is a crime where you can be convicted merely on the judgment of an arresting officer.  You can be stopped and arrested if the officer feels you are under the influence, based on such observations as weaving in traffic, erratic braking, driving without lights on, or improper signaling.  Once the officer approaches you, you’ll be asked questions, but you are not required to answer them.  You should stay calm, don’t make jokes, and remain respectful.  The officer is trying to gather evidence to build a case against you, so s/he probably won’t be advising you of things unless you ask. There’s a good chance you will be videotaped without knowing it. You may refuse to take a field sobriety test when you’ve been stopped, but once you’ve been arrested, you will suffer additional penalties if you refuse a breath or chemical test.   If you’ve been drinking, chances are you’ll be arrested.  The less you say, the better your local Tennessee DUI attorney will be able to fight for you. 

One of the unique things about a DUI conviction is that it instantly turns everyday law abiding citizens from all walks of life into sudden criminals.  Teachers, doctors, bankers, students and housewives who have never been in trouble with the law will be facing a mark on their permanent record with a DUI conviction.  A conviction can have an effect on the rest of your life.  It can affect your family and friends, and can even affect your job. And, importantly, a conviction will send you to jail.  Tennessee DUI laws are among the strictest in the nation.  To protect yourself, you’ll need to quickly contact a DUI attorney who specializes in this very precise practice of law. Contact a local Tennessee DUI attorney today for a free consultation and get your questions answered.

The penalties listed below are called for by statute, are not complete, and can often be removed or reduced significantly with the assistance of a local Tennessee DUI attorney.

• Incarceration – Minimum of 48 hours, and up to 11 months & 29 days in jail.
• Fines – Minimum $350 up to $1,500
• Driver’s License – One year license suspension
• DUI School – You’ll be required to complete a program
• Ignition Interlock – The court may require an ignition interlock system to be placed on your vehicle.  Cost is minimum $810 per year
• Restitution – You’ll be required to pay restitution to anyone suffering physical injury or personal loss.

• Bail – amount set by the court
• Towing – approximately $75 to $100 plus additional fees for each day your vehicle is in storage.
• Insurance – you'll be considered a “high risk” driver to insurance companies and you should expect your rates to go up significantly

Additional offenses and considerations will bring significantly higher penalties.  Don’t take a chance with your freedom.  It is highly recommended that you contact a qualified DUI attorney right away for a FREE CONSULTATION on your case.  Your case CAN be won with the right representation.

Tennessee Counties

© 2019 goDWI All Rights Reserved