ARE YOU A DUI ATTORNEY?
Find out how to join our network

Find a Local DUI Lawyer

State

City

 

In South Carolina, you have
30 days to act!

In South Carolina, you only have 30 days for your attorney to request a hearing to contest your license suspension. Failure to do so will result in an automatic suspension with no further recourse available.

Answer This Question

Would you trust your family doctor to perform your heart transplant?

Hire a specialist for the job. Don’t take chances with your freedom. Contact an experienced DUI attorney today for a free consultation.

.

Most Searched Cities

Find a South Carolina DUI Attorney

City
OR
County

Information on DUI in South Carolina

Keep your Freedom. Fight Your DUI. Your Case Can Be Won.

In a recent year, statistics showed that 42% of all traffic fatalities in South Carolina were DUI related, which placed the state at a low 49th in the nation. The recognition of those high numbers has caused state lawmakers to take notice and make some major changes in the DUI laws of the state.  In light of the new laws, South Carolina is a state where you especially don’t want to get charged with a DUI.  DUI is now treated as a very serious matter, and law enforcement is intent on enforcing the laws and removing drivers who are driving after drinking. The positive effect of this is that the roads will be safer and lives will be saved.  But DUI arrests will rise quickly if drivers don’t acknowledge the severity of the new laws.  South Carolina is the only state in the nation that requires the videotaping of your arrest and sobriety tests.  The reading of your Miranda rights and the law you’re being charged with breaking will also be recorded.  You are required to submit to sobriety testing, and will be punished by law if you refuse.  A DUI conviction will give you a criminal record.  And a criminal record will stay with you forever. 

It is important that you contact a qualified local DUI attorney right away to help guide you through the legal process.  The practice of DUI law has become a highly specialized field in recent years and attorneys who practice it have a high rate of success in defending cases.  A qualified South Carolina DUI attorney will be able to ask pertinent questions relating to your DUI and fight the specific fight that needs to be fought, with detailed knowledge that another attorney won’t have.  Don't take a chance with your freedom.  Contact a local South Carolina DUI attorney today for a free consultation on your case.

SOUTH CAROLINA is a member of the
INTERSTATE DRIVER'S LICENSE COMPACT

If you are arrested outside your home state, be sure to ask your attorney how this law will impact you.

Penalties in South Carolina are dependent on your BAC (blood alcohol content) level at the time of your arrest.  The penalties listed below are called for by statute, are not complete, and can often be removed or reduced significantly with the assistance of a local South Carolina DUI attorney.

FIRST OFFENSE
• BAC .08 to less than .10
- You’ll be fined $400 and sentenced between two and 30 days in jail. 
• BAC .10 to less than .16 - You’ll be fined $500 and sentenced between three and 30 days in jail.
• Over a BAC of .16 - You’ll be fined $1,000 and sentenced to 30 to 90 days in jail. 
• Loss of License - You’ll lose your license for a minimum of 30 days
• Mandatory Treatment - All DUI offenses in require completion of an alcohol and drug treatment program
• Child Endangerment - If you are charged with a DUI while a minor child is in the vehicle with you, you can be charged with Child Endangerment with additional penalties.

ADDITIONAL COSTS AND CONSEQUENCES
• Bail – set by the court, required for release
• Towing – tow fee $75 to $100 plus daily storage fees
• Insurance – you will be designated as a high risk driver and your insurance will increase significantly.  Expect your rates to double or more.
• Record – OWI conviction will remain on driving record permanently if there are two or more within 10 years
• Employment – offender may lose time off work and possibly even their job.
• Immigration and travel – restrictions can apply with certain convictions, including Canada

Second, third and fourth DUI offenses have significantly higher penalties with jail time increasing to 7 years and a $10,000 fine.  Don’t take a chance with your freedom.  Contact one of our DUI attorneys today for a FREE CONSULTATION.

South Carolina Counties


© 2017 goDWI All Rights Reserved