ARE YOU A DUI ATTORNEY?
Find out how to join our network

Find a Local DUI Lawyer

State

City

 

In Oregon, you have
10 days to act!

In Oregon, you only have 10 days for your attorney to request a hearing to contest your license suspension. Failure to do so will result in an automatic suspension with no further recourse available.

Did You Know?

These things can cause a false result in a breath test:
• Mints
• Gum disease
• Wonder Bread
• High protein diets
• A recent burp
• Dentures
• A tongue piercing

Don't take a chance on a faulty test. Contact a qualified DUI attorney today for a free consultation.

.

Most Searched Cities

Find an Oregon DUI Attorney

City
OR
County

Information on DUI in Oregon

Protect your freedom. Protect your future. Your case CAN be won.

Oregon laws present stiff penalties and are aggressively enforced, and as a result, DUII casualties are declining each year.  Facing a DUII in Oregon is a stressful and complicated issue which can involve fines, suspension of your driver’s license, and possible jail time.  If you have never been arrested, handcuffed, and driven to a police station before, you probably are not familiar with the complicated laws you’re being charged with and it is important that you understand them clearly.  DUII is a serious crime and a conviction will stay on your record forever.  Hiring a local DUI attorney to analyze your case and maneuver you through the process is imperative. 

When you are arrested, you will have two separate legal cases against you which will be handled simultaneously.  One is the court case which will deal with incarceration, fines and fees, and assessment and treatment programs.  The other case is administrative and it is handled by the DMV.  It will deal with driver’s license suspension, reinstatement and limited driving licenses.  Once your license is taken, you will have 10 days to request a hearing with the DMV or your license will automatically be suspended with no possibility of a limited driving license.

DIVERSION
If you are a first time offender, you may qualify for a diversion program.  You must not have been convicted of a DUI / DUII in the last 15 years, or have participated in any other type of state sanctioned diversion program.  You will be required to plead guilty or no contest to the charges before you, and you will have to complete an alcohol assessment and treatment program at your own expense.  There are other costs associated with the program, including installation of an ignition interlock device on your vehicle, again at your expense.  It is important that you have a local DUI attorney on your team to review the case and advise you.  Don't take a chance with your freedom.  Contact an experienced local DUI attorney today for a free consultation on your case. 

OREGON is a member of the
INTERSTATE DRIVER'S LICENSE COMPACT

If you are arrested outside your home state, be sure to ask your attorney how this law will impact you.

The penalties listed below are called for by statute, are not complete, and can often be removed or reduced significantly with the assistance of a local Oregon DUI - DUII attorney.

FIRST OFFENSE
● Incarceration – Minimum 2 days up to one year in jail.
● Fines – Minimum $1,000 plus court costs 
● License Suspension – One year
● SR22 – You will be required to file an SR22 with the DMV if you have applied for a limited driving license, or before your suspended license will be reinstated.  The SR22 is a form which guarantees your future responsibility by an insurance company (they’re insuring you) and basically advises that your insurance company knows of your license suspension.
● Education – Mandatory alcohol treatment program, at your expense.
● Ignition Interlock Device – Required as of June 2011.  You will be responsible for installation, rent and all associated costs of the device, including monthly service visits and calibrations.  Cost approximately $65 per month for one year.

ASSOCIATED  COSTS AND CONSEQUENCES
● Bail – at court’s discretion, dependent on alcohol content and number of offenses
● Towing - approximately $75 or $100, with additional daily rates added on as long as your vehicle is in storage.
● Insurance – You must carry the SR22 policy for 3 years.  As a “high risk” driver, assuming your insurance company doesn’t drop you, expect your insurance rates to skyrocket.  Doubling or tripling is not unheard of.
● Record – A DWI conviction will remain on driving record permanently
● Employment – Offender may lose time off work and possibly even their job.

Additional offenses will bring significantly higher penalties including prison and fines.  Don’t take a chance with your freedom.  It is highly recommended that you contact a qualified DUI attorney right away for a FREE CONSULTATION on your case.  Your case CAN be won with the right representation. 

Oregon Counties


© 2017 goDWI All Rights Reserved