ARE YOU A DUI ATTORNEY?
Find out how to join our network

Find a Local DUI Lawyer

State

City

 

In Oklahoma, you have
15 days to act!

In Oklahoma, you only have 15 days for your attorney to request a hearing to contest your license suspension. Failure to do so will result in an automatic suspension with no further recourse available.

Fact:

Each year there are over 19,000 citizens arrested for DUI in Oklahoma. Some of them choose to ask their nephew who just graduated law school to handle their DUI case.

Nobody makes good choices 100% of the time. Contact an experienced local DUI attorney for a free consultation.

.

Most Searched Cities

Find an Oklahoma DUI Attorney

City
OR
County

Information on DUI in Oklahoma

You have 15 days to request a hearing or you’ll lose your license

A conviction for DUI in Oklahoma can change your life in a matter of seconds.   Because the public has become more aware of the dangers of drinking and driving, legislators across the nation have begun to pass strict drunk driving laws, particularly in Oklahoma.   A DUI is now a serious criminal offense which can bring severe fines, loss of your driver’s license and mandatory jail time.   If you’ve been arrested, you have only 15 days to request a hearing with the DPS to contest the suspension of your license.  Failure to do so will result in an automatic suspension with no recourse.   The laws are complex and are not easy to understand for the average person, especially one who is stressed out because of a recent arrest.  It is important that you find skilled legal representation immediately after an arrest if your case is to be defended to its potential.   The defense of DUI has now evolved into a specialty area of law practice as ordained by the American Bar Association, and a skilled DUI attorney can answer your questions and can lay out a roadmap for your case.  It is highly recommended that you contact a local Oklahoma DUI lawyer today for a free consultation.

The civil case administering your license suspension will also dictate reinstatement and will apply points against your record.  In addition, you will face a separate criminal case to be tried in court.  The result of the court case will determine your fines and court fees, any remedial alcohol training programs and jail time.  Your attorney will be well versed both in the law and the science associated with defending you and will request all records, cross examine the officers and likely bring in expert witnesses to bolster your case.  Breath test machines are not always accurate and results can be tainted by things such as gum disease, mints, a high protein diet, a recent burp and even a tongue piercing.  Field sobriety tests must be administered in a specific way or they can be inadmissible.   Things such as the weather or even the grade of the road where you took your field test may be pertinent.  A skilled DUI attorney knows these things and is experienced in how best to defend against them.

A DUI conviction will remain on your record forever.  In some cases you could be prohibited from foreign travel, renting a car or even holding certain jobs if your position requires driving in any form.  Don’t take a chance on your future.  Reach out to an experienced DUI lawyer for a free consultation right away.

OKLAHOMA is a member of the
INTERSTATE DRIVER'S LICENSE COMPACT

If you are arrested outside your home state, be sure to ask your attorney how this law will impact you.


The penalties listed below are called for by statute, are not complete, and can often be removed or reduced significantly with the assistance of a local Oklahoma DUI attorney.

 

FIRST OFFENSE
• Incarceration – 10 days up to 1 year; up to 4 years with minor in vehicle
• Fines – $100 to $1,000 or jail or both, plus court costs; fine up to $5,000 with minor in vehicle
• License Suspension – 30 days; 180 days for test refusal; reinstatement penalty $200
• Education – mandatory alcohol & drug assessment, fee of $160 plus $15 to DPS ; required before sentencing
• Ignition Interlock  – required minimum 30 days for BAC .15 or higher

ADDITIONAL COSTS AND CONSEQUENCES
• Bail – set by the court, required for release
• Towing – tow fee $75 to $100 plus daily storage fees
• Insurance – you will be designated as a high risk driver and your insurance will increase significantly.  Expect your rates to double or more.
• Record – DUI conviction will remain on driving record permanently
• Employment – offender may lose time off work and possibly even their job.
• Immigration and travel – restrictions can apply for  foreign travel

Additional offenses and considerations will bring significantly higher penalties including up to 20 years in prison and $5,000 in fines.  Don’t take a chance with your freedom.  It is highly recommended that you contact a qualified DUI attorney right away for a FREE CONSULTATION on your case.  Your case CAN be won with the right representation.

Oklahoma Counties


© 2017 goDWI All Rights Reserved