ARE YOU A DUI ATTORNEY?
Find out how to join our network

Find a Local DUI Lawyer

State

City

 

In New Mexico, you have
10 days to act!

In New Mexico you only have 10 days for your attorney to request a hearing to contest your license suspension. Failure to do so will result in an automatic suspension with no further recourse available

Did You Know?

Out-of-state drivers convicted elsewhere of DWI within the last 10 years who apply for a New Mexico driver’s license are eligible ONLY for a license which requires an ignition interlock device to be placed on their vehicle.

Don't take a chance with your driving freedom. Contact a local experienced DWI attorney today for a free consultation.

.

Most Searched Cities

Find a New Mexico DUI Attorney

City
OR
County

Information on DWI in New Mexico

You have 10 days to request a hearing to prevent the loss of your license.

If you’ve been arrested in New Mexico for drunk driving, your license has already been taken from you, and you’ve likely been handcuffed and booked in at the jail.  You now have only 10 days to contact the MVD to request a hearing regarding your driver’s license to avoid automatic forfeiture of your license for one year.  The MVD will be handling one of the two legal cases against you, namely the suspension, reinstatement, and revocation of your driver’s license.  They will also add points to your driver’s license.  The other legal case you’ll face is in criminal court, where jail time, fines and fees, and remedial education programs will be determined.  The two cases will run concurrently and are not directly affiliated with each other.   For instance, if you refuse to take a breath or blood test that information can be used against you in your court case and a qualified DWI lawyer can likely get it thrown out.  But you will still have to face additional penalties with your MVD case, where the test refusal will extend your license revocation to one year for the first offense.   Of course your DUI attorney will fight that one too, but you will be fighting two courts simultaneously for one action.  This is an example of how complicated DWI laws are in relation to other infractions.

In New Mexico, it is against the law to drive with a BAC (blood alcohol content) above .08.  If your BAC is above the limit, you will be arrested and you will lose your license for up to a year.  Facing a drunk driving charge can be a frightening thing if you, like most from the state, have never been arrested before.  The drunk driving laws in New Mexico are strict and are aggressively enforced.  A DWI is a criminal charge which should be taken seriously.  It can affect your spouse and your children, your friends, your job and even your freedom and your right to drive.  Because of the complex web of DWI laws and penalties on the books today, the legal defense of DWI has evolved into a highly specialized field in which attorneys can acquire accreditation.    Do not take a chance on your freedom or your future.  A DWI conviction is forever.  Contact a local New Mexico DWI attorney as soon as possible for a free consultation about your case.  You have nothing to lose, and a lot to rescue.

NEW MEXICO is a member of the
INTERSTATE DRIVER'S LICENSE COMPACT

If you are arrested outside your home state, be sure to ask your attorney how this law will impact you.

The penalties listed below are called for by statute, are not complete, and can often be removed or reduced significantly with the assistance of a local New Mexico DUI attorney.

FIRST OFFENSE
• Incarceration
– up to 90 days
• Fines – $500
• License Suspension – 6 months; 1 year for refusal or no hearing request within 10 days
• Ignition Interlock Device – available for all suspensions, cost approximately $1000. Special license required
• Community Service – as determined by the court

ADDITIONAL COSTS AND CONSEQUENCES
• Bail – set by the court, required before being released after being arrested
• Towing and Impound -1may be impounded up to 30 days. Towing fee approximately $100 plus daily storage fees  also apply
• DUI School – at determination of the court, at your expense
• Insurance –As a designated “high risk” driver, your insurance company will raise your rates significantly.  Expect your insurance rates to double or more for several years.
• Record – DUI conviction will remain on driving record permanently
• Employment – offender may lose time off work and possibly even their job.
• Immigration and travel – restrictions can apply with certain convictions
• Vehicle – possible vehicle seizure and forfeiture

Additional offenses will bring significantly higher penalties, up to 3 years in prison and $5,000 in fines.  Don’t take a chance with your freedom.  It is highly recommended that you contact a qualified local DUI attorney right away for a FREE CONSULTATION on your case.  Your case CAN be won with the right representation.

New Mexico Counties


© 2017 goDWI All Rights Reserved