ARE YOU A DUI ATTORNEY?
Find out how to join our network

Find a Local DUI Lawyer

State

City

 

In Nevada, you have
7 days to act!

In Nevada you only have 7 days for your attorney to request a hearing to contest your license suspension. Failure to do so will result in an automatic suspension with no further recourse available

Well, WOULD You?

Would you trust your family doctor to perform your heart transplant?

Don’t take chances. Contact an experienced DUI attorney today for a free consultation on your DUI case.

.

Most Searched Cities

Find a Nevada DUI Attorney

City
OR
County

Information on DUI in Nevada

You must request a hearing within 7 days or you will lose your license

Being arrested for a DUI in Nevada is a serious offense that should not be taken lightly.  It is a criminal offense that can bring significant consequences for you, including jail time, monetary fines and suspension of your driver’s license.  A conviction will stay on your record permanently.   The Nevada laws are complex and it’s important that you understand how they will affect you.  A knowledgeable local Nevada DUI attorney can help you through the process, as the laws are applied differently depending on the county of your arrest.

In Nevada, there are three different ways you can be arrested for DUI.   The law states that if your BAC (blood alcohol content) is .08 or higher while you are driving, you will be arrested no matter how excellent your driving has been.  The second way you can be arrested is if you have a BAC of .08 within two hours of operating a vehicle.  You don’t need to display any impairment to be arrested under this method.  The third way you can be arrested has nothing to do with BAC.  If an officer has reason to believe that you are driving impaired and not in control of your vehicle, you will be arrested.  Many people who are otherwise law abiding citizens find themselves sudden criminals because they either don’t understand the laws or they don’t take them seriously.  A DUI conviction is forever and will stay on your record. 

NOTE:  If you are driving in Nevada, you are presumed to have given “implied consent” to be given a  sobriety test.  When you are first stopped, you will likely be asked to take a breathalyzer test.  If you refuse, you will be arrested, your license will be confiscated and immediately suspended.  When you are booked into jail, you will be asked again take a chemical test.  If you refuse both, the law allows for law enforcement officers to use reasonable force, including restraint, to draw blood from you.  Penalties will also be increased for refusing the test. 

Do not even think about going to court without having a local Nevada DUI attorney by your side.  Contact an experienced DUI attorney right away for a free consultation on your case.  Don't take a chance with your freedom.

The penalties listed below are called for by statute, are not complete, and can often be removed or reduced significantly with the assistance of a local Oklahoma DUI attorney.

FIRST OFFENSE
• Incarceration –  2 days to 6 months jail time, court holds right to substitute community service, see below
• Fines –  $400 to $1,200, plus additional fees and assessments
• License Suspension – mandatory 90 days
• Insurance  – SR22 proof of insurance form mandatory before suspended license reinstated
• DUI School – mandatory
• Ignition Interlock Device – can be require for 3 to 6 months at offender’s expense, approximately $60 monthly.  Monthly appointments for recalibration also required.
• Alcohol & Drug – mandatory if BAC is above .18 Alcohol Abuse Assessment Program
• Community Service –  minimum 96 hours if court approves, in lieu of incarceration

ADDITIONAL COSTS AND CONSEQUENCES
• Bail – amount set by the court, required before being released after being arrested
• Towing – average towing rates are $75 to $100 with additional fees for each day the vehicle is impounded
• Insurance – required to carry high risk SR22 insurance for three years.  As a designated  “high risk” driver, your insurance company will raise your rates significantly.  Expect your insurance rates to double or more.
• Record – DUI conviction will remain on driving record permanently
• Employment – offender may lose time off work and possibly even their job.
Vehicle – possible vehicle seizure for multiple violations

Additional offenses will bring significantly higher penalties, up to 6 years in prison and $5000 in fines.  Don’t take a chance with your freedom.  It is highly recommended that you contact a qualified DUI attorney right away for a FREE CONSULTATION on your case.  Your case CAN be won with the right representation. 

Nevada Counties


© 2017 goDWI All Rights Reserved