ARE YOU A DUI ATTORNEY?
Find out how to join our network

Find a Local DUI Lawyer

State

City

 

In Missouri, you have
15 days to act!

In Missouri, you only have 15 days for your attorney to request a hearing to contest your license suspension. Failure to do so will result in an automatic suspension with no further recourse available.

Did You Know?

Driving records are shared between states under the Driver’s License Compact. If you have received a drunk driving conviction in another state, it can count as a prior conviction in Missouri and be used to convert your DWI into a 2nd, 3rd or 4th offense, with corresponding penalties.


Don't take chances with your driving record. Contact an experienced DWI attorney for a free consultation.

.

Most Searched Cities

Find a Missouri DUI Attorney

City
OR
County

Information on DWI in Missouri

Request a hearing within 15 days or automatically lose your license.

Missouri has a ‘per se’ law which says that if you are driving with a BAC of .08 or higher, you are subject to arrest.  If you have been out with friends having a few drinks and have decided to drive home because you are “fine to drive”, you may be in for a surprise.  Even though your driving might be perfect, you can be stopped for any other infraction, such as a taillight out, and if you fail a breath test, you can and will be arrested.  Laws have gotten sophisticated and complicated in the last years and this law specifically ignores your driving ability, focusing only on your alcohol content.  You can also be charged and arrested even if there is no record of your blood alcohol content.  If the peace officer has observed you driving erratically, pulls you over, and notices certain factors about you, such as red eyes, disheveled look, alcohol on breath, you likely will be arrested, handcuffed and booked into jail.  Drinking and driving is a grave offense which the state takes seriously and which you should too.   If you’re facing a DWI, chances are you are angry, embarrassed, frightened and fairly stressed out about what you are about to encounter.  Most DWI offenders in Missouri are first timers, in that they have never had any brush with the law before.  The law is nondiscriminatory in that it snares people of all ages from all social and economic backgrounds.  It has been said that a DWI is the one law that turns non criminals into criminals instantly.  Going to court without legal representation is not a wise option.  An experienced DWI attorney who is familiar with local laws, who understands the science of DWI, and who knows the system, is who you should contact without hesitation for a free consultation regarding your case. Even if your case seems like a slam dunk for the prosecution, a skilled DWI attorney can often get charges greatly diminished and even dropped. 

In Missouri, you have only 15 days after your arrest to request a hearing to contest your license suspension.  If you fail to do so, your license will automatically be suspended for the requisite period.  The administrative civil case against you regarding your license suspension is only one of two cases you will face.  The other is a criminal case, to be tried in court.  The outcome of this case will determine total fines and fees, required alcohol treatment programs and jail time. 

A conviction will stay on your record.  This is not the time to take chances with your future.  It is imperative that you call a local Missouri DWI attorney right away for a free consultation regarding your case.  Get yourself protected.

MISSOURI is a member of the
INTERSTATE DRIVER'S LICENSE COMPACT

If you are arrested outside your home state, be sure to ask your attorney how this law will impact you.


The penalties listed below are called for by statute, are not complete, and can often be removed or reduced significantly with the assistance of a local Missouri DWI attorney.

 

FIRST OFFENSE
• Incarceration – up to 6 months  jail
• Fines – up to $500 plus court costs
• License Suspension – 90 days up to 1 year for test refusal. Reinstatement fee $45 plus SATOP and SR22 required
• Education – complete SATOP alcohol treatment program as a requirement for license reinstatement
• Limited License Application – if qualified, available for work and approved destinations only, with SR22
• Insurance – SR22 high-risk driver insurance required for 2 years, as a requirement for license reinstatement.   

ADDITIONAL COSTS AND CONSEQUENCES
• Bail – set by the court, required before being released after being arrested, additional nighttime bail fee $50
• Towing – $100 plus $30 for each day vehicle is impounded.
• Insurance –As a designated high risk driver, your insurance company will raise your rates significantly.  Expect your insurance rates to double or more.
• Record – DUI conviction will remain on driving record permanently
• Employment – offender may lose time off work and possibly even their job.
• Immigration and travel – restrictions can apply with certain convictions
• Vehicle – possible vehicle seizure for multiple violations

Additional offenses will bring significantly higher penalties, up to 7 years in prison and $5,000 in fines.  Don’t take a chance with your freedom.  It is highly recommended that you contact a qualified DUI attorney right away for a FREE CONSULTATION on your case.  It is possible for your case to be won with the right representation.

Missouri Counties


© 2017 goDWI All Rights Reserved