ARE YOU A DUI ATTORNEY?
Find out how to join our network

Find a Local DUI Lawyer

State

City

 

In Louisiana, you have
15 days to act!

In Louisiana, you only have 15 days for your attorney to request a hearing to contest your license suspension. Failure to do so will result in an automatic suspension with no further recourse available.

Did You Know?

A DUI conviction in another state can be treated as a prior conviction in Louisiana for DWI penalty purposes.

Don't take a chance with your driving record. Contact an experienced DWI attorney today for a free consultation.

.

Most Searched Cities

Find a Louisiana DUI Attorney

City
OR
County

Information on DWI in Louisiana

An arrest is not a conviction. Your case can be won. Request a hearing within 15 days or lose your license

Under Louisiana’s drunk driving laws, there are different ways the state can prosecute you for DWI.  The first method is under Louisiana’s “per se” law, which dictates an arrest if you are driving with a blood alcohol content of .08 or greater.  Note that this method does not require proof that you are driving impaired, as it only deals with alcohol content.  However, you can also be charged for driving while intoxicated under the assumption that you are unable to operate your vehicle safely.  Under this method, the state can cite alcohol, drugs or both as evidence of your impairment.  If you are arrested in Louisiana, you will be handcuffed and taken to the police station or jail, where you will be fingerprinted, photographed and booked. 

Upon your arrest, you will be presented with two different legal cases to fight.  One will be a civil case presiding over your license suspension, SR22 validation, ignition interlock device oversight, and points against your license.  You have 15 days after your arrest to request a hearing with the DMV to contest your license suspension.  Failure to do so will result in an automatic 90 day suspension.  Your other case will be tried criminal court.  Depending on the verdict, your criminal case will mete out fines and fees, community service and DUI school, and jail time.  These results can affect you for a very long time, if not for the rest of your life.

If you are facing a DWI in Louisiana, you are probably feeling pretty stressed out.  The arrest process is embarrassing and can cause depression, anger and a whole lot of fear.  The laws are complicated and almost impossible to understand in the time you have before you need to make decisions.  You will need a skilled DWI attorney by your side who can help you navigate the system.  An experienced DWI lawyer will be familiar with the local laws and will be able to fight for your rights.  A DWI charge is a serious one which should not be taken lightly, but it does not necessarily signal a conviction in your future.  It is imperative that you contact a locally experienced DWI attorney right away for a free consultation on your case.  Don’t take a chance with your freedom or your future.

LOUISIANA is a member of the
INTERSTATE DRIVER'S LICENSE COMPACT

If you are arrested outside your home state, be sure to ask your attorney how this law will impact you.


The penalties listed below are called for by statute, are not complete, and can often be removed or reduced significantly with the assistance of a local Louisiana DWI attorney.

 

FIRST OFFENSE
• Incarceration – up to 6 months
• Fines – up to $1,000 plus court costs
• License Suspension – 90 days or 180 days for test refusal. Reinstatement fee up to $300
• Limited License – possible after 30 days suspension, with SR22 and Ignition Interlock required
• Ignition Interlock – required for limited license at your expense, approximately $90 installation and $75 monthly
• Insurance – SR22 high-risk driver insurance required for 3 years; necessary before license reinstatement   

ADDITIONAL COSTS AND CONSEQUENCES
• Bail – set by the court, required for release
• Towing – tow fee $75 to $100 plus additional fee for daily storage
• Insurance – you will be designated as a high risk driver and your insurance will increase drastically.  Expect your rates to double or more.
• Record – DUI conviction will remain on driving record permanently
• Employment – offender may lose time off work and possibly even their job.
• Immigration and travel – restrictions can apply with certain convictions
• Vehicle – possible vehicle seizure for multiple violations


Additional offenses and considerations will bring significantly higher penalties, up to 30 years in prison and $5,000 in fines.  Don’t take a chance with your freedom.  It is highly recommended that you contact a qualified DUI attorney right away for a FREE CONSULTATION on your case.  It is possible your case can be won with the right representation.

Louisiana Parishes


© 2017 goDWI All Rights Reserved