ARE YOU A DUI ATTORNEY?
Find out how to join our network

Find a Local DUI Lawyer

State

City

 

In Kentucky, you have
15 days to act!

In Kentucky, you only have 15 days for your attorney to request a hearing to contest your license suspension. Failure to do so will result in an automatic suspension with no further recourse available.

Did You Know?

A DUI conviction in another state can be treated as a prior conviction in Kentucky for
DUI penalty purposes.

Don't take a chance with your driving record. Contact an experienced DUI attorney today for a free consultation.

.

DUI Resources

Most Searched Cities

Find a Kentucky DUI Attorney

City
OR
County

Information on DUI in Kentucky

You must request a hearing within 15 days or you will lose your license

Being arrested for a DUI is a serious criminal offense in Kentucky.  If you are facing a recent DUI charge, you are probably experiencing a range of emotions, including uncertainty, vulnerability and even some fear.  Not knowing what lies ahead of you will add to your concerns.   A conviction from DUI can affect your family, your job, and even your freedom.  A DUI is the one law that is said to instantly turn non-criminals into criminals, as affects everyone from all social and economic backgrounds.  Doctors, teachers, clerks, executives and housewives are all affected by DUI laws and each will face having a criminal record if convicted.  Do not take chances with your future by appearing in court alone.  Get qualified representation from a DUI lawyer right away.   Your DUI attorney will be pleased to offer you a free consultation and answer your questions about your case.

The DUI laws in Kentucky are winning issues for lawmakers to address, because the issue of drunk driving is an important one with the public.  Newer and stricter laws are being passed with frequency, making the web of laws and penalties almost impossible to understand for the average person.  You should contact an experienced local DUI lawyer to help you with your case as soon as possible.  The American Bar Association has recognized DUI Defense Law a specialty area of law practice, and has even accredited an educational program of instruction.   This has come about because the laws have become so complex in the last few decades. 

In Kentucky you can be arrested if you are driving with a BAC (blood alcohol content) of .08 or more.  This is referred to as the “per se” law, and it only addresses  the amount of alcohol in your system at the time of the test.  It has nothing to do with your driving ability.  In effect, you could be stopped for a brake light out and the officer could ask you to take a breath test after noticing alcohol on your breath.  Knowing that your driving was perfect, if you agreed to a breath test and failed it, you would be arrested, handcuffed and booked into jail. 

There is also another way you can be arrested for DUI in Kentucky, and it does have to do with your driving, but nothing to do with your BAC level.  If the peace officer merely believes you to be unable to safely drive your vehicle, you can be arrested.  No breath test results are needed for this type of arrest.  You may have been observed weaving between lanes, braking erratically, driving with headlights off, or even slow acceleration at intersections.  This method of arrest depends only on opinion.  An experienced local Kentucky DUI lawyer deals with these cases every day and knows how best to defend against them.

KENTUCKY is a member of the
INTERSTATE DRIVER'S LICENSE COMPACT

If you are arrested outside your home state, be sure to ask your attorney how this law will impact you.

The penalties listed below are called for by statute, are not complete, and can often be removed or reduced significantly with the assistance of a local Kentucky DUI attorney.

FIRST OFFENSE
• Incarceration – 2 days to 30 days in jail
• Fines – $200 to $500
• License Suspension – 30 days to 120 days suspension
• Education – required 90 days alcohol abuse program
• Community Service – as determined by the court, 48 hours to 30 days community labor .

ADDITIONAL COSTS AND CONSEQUENCES
• Bail – set by the court, required before being released after being arrested
• Towing and Impound – vehicle may be impounded. Towing fee approximately $100 plus daily storage fees  also apply.
• Insurance –As a designated “high risk” driver, your insurance company will raise your rates significantly.  Expect your insurance rates to double or more for several years.
• Record – DUI conviction will remain on driving record permanently
• Employment – offender may lose time off work and possibly even their job.
• Immigration and travel – restrictions can apply with certain convictions

Additional offenses will bring significantly higher penalties, up to 5 years in prison and $10,000 in fines.  Don’t take a chance with your freedom.  It is highly recommended that you contact a qualified local DUI attorney right away for a FREE CONSULTATION on your case.  It is possible your case can be won with the right representation. 

Kentucky Counties


© 2017 goDWI All Rights Reserved