ARE YOU A DUI ATTORNEY?
Find out how to join our network

Find a Local DUI Lawyer

State

City

 

In Kansas, you have
10 days to act!

In Kansas, you only have 10 days for your attorney to request a hearing to contest your license suspension. Failure to do so will result in an automatic suspension with no further recourse available.

Question

Would you ask your family doctor to perform brain surgery?

Don't take chances. Contact an experienced Kansas DUI attorney for a free consultation.

.

Most Searched Cities

Find a Kansas DUI Attorney

City
OR
County

Information on DUI in Kansas

You must request a hearing within 10 days or you will lose your license

The state of Kansas considers you to be driving illegally if your BAC (blood alcohol content) is .08 or higher, and for this you can and will be arrested.  If you are facing a DUI charge in Kansas, you should take the charge seriously.  In times past, getting stopped for a DUI was little more than a routine traffic infraction where you paid a fine and went on about your life.  Today a DUI is considered a serious criminal offense with significant penalties associated with it, including heavy fines, license suspension and jail time.  Because of public outcry, legislators continue to pass more aggressive laws, making it difficult for the average person to understand how the laws work and affect each other. The best way to fight your charge is with the help of a qualified DUI attorney who has detailed knowledge of Kansas DUI laws and who understands the science associated with defending DUI cases.  An experienced attorney can advise you of what you are up against and form the best plan of defense with you. Contact a local DUI attorney for a free consultation right away.

There are two separate ways you can be charged with DUI in Kansas, the first of which is under the Kansas per se law, which dictates that driving with a blood or breath reading of .08 is chargeable with DUI and arrest.  This law only addresses the alcohol content in your system at the time you are driving and does not indicate any level of impairment.  The other way to be charged is by the observations of the officer.  Once you are stopped for suspicion of drunk driving, the officer begins to build a case against you and will take note of everything you say and do.  In addition to noting your impaired driving, the officer will note red eyes, alcohol breath, disheveled looks, what you say and how you say it.  If you seem to be having a difficult time presenting your license and registration, that will be noted as well.  Most attorneys will suggest that the less you say at this time, the better off you will be when going to court. 

After your arrest, the state will present two distinct cases against you.  An administrative case handled by the Kansas DOR will manage your license suspension, reinstatement and associated fees, and points against your license.  Simultaneously, a criminal case will commence during which your attorney will cross examine state testimony, present expert witnesses and direct your case to the best outcome possible.  The court case will mete out penalties according to state statute including fines and fees, alcohol education programs and jail time.  Each county interprets the laws a little differently, so it will be important for you to find a local Kansas DUI attorney to represent you.  Contact an experienced DUI attorney in your area right away for a free consultation on your case.  The sooner you begin, the faster you can begin to defend your case properly.


KANSAS is a member of the
INTERSTATE DRIVER'S LICENSE COMPACT

If you are arrested outside your home state, be sure to ask your attorney how this law will impact you.


The penalties listed below are called for by statute, are not complete, and can often be removed or reduced significantly with the assistance of a local Kansas DUI attorney.

 

FIRST OFFENSE
• Incarceration – minimum 48 hours up to 6 months
• Fines – $500 to $1,000
• License Suspension – 30 days minimum followed by 330 days restricted driving only. Reinstatement fee $100
• Education – required alcohol and drug education program, at your expense approximately $150 to $300
• Ignition Interlock – required for BAC .15 or higher.  Must be installed for 1 year after suspension ends   

ADDITIONAL COSTS AND CONSEQUENCES
• Bail – set by the court, required before being released after being arrested, additional nighttime bail fee $50
• Towing – to fee $75 to $100 plus daily storage fee
• Insurance – as a designated “high risk” driver, your insurance company will raise your rates significantly.  Expect your insurance rates to double or more.
• Record – DUI conviction will remain on driving record permanently
• Employment – offender may lose time off work and possibly even their job.
• Immigration and travel – restrictions can apply with certain convictions
• Vehicle – possible vehicle seizure for multiple violations

Additional offenses will bring significantly higher penalties, up to1 year in prison and $2,500 in fines.  Don’t take a chance with your freedom.  It is highly recommended that you contact a qualified DUI attorney right away for a FREE CONSULTATION on your case.  It is possible your case can be won with the right representation.

Kansas Counties


© 2017 goDWI All Rights Reserved