ARE YOU A DUI ATTORNEY?
Find out how to join our network

Find a Local DUI Lawyer

State

City

 

In Iowa, you have
10 days to act!

In Iowa, you only have 10 days for your attorney to request a hearing to contest your license suspension. Failure to do so will result in an automatic suspension with no further recourse available.

Fact:

Each year, nearly 14,000 are arrested for OWI in Iowa. Many of them ask their nephew, the recent law school grad, to handle their OWI case

Nobody makes good choices 100% of the time. Don’t take a chance. Contact an experienced OWI attorney today for a free consultation.

.

Most Searched Cities

Find an Iowa DUI Attorney

City
OR
County

Information on OWI in Iowa

You must request a hearing within 10 days or you will lose your license

In Iowa, the legal limit for driving is a blood alcohol content of .08.  If you meet this limit while operating a vehicle, you will be arrested.  The case will be prosecuted on the per se law which dictates a .08 limit regardless of a lack of driving impairment.  You can also be charged and arrested if the officer merely decides that you are operating your vehicle unsafely due to impairment from alcohol, drugs or both.  The charge will be based on observations such as your driving,  your physical demeanor, fumbling for your license, slurring your words, red eyes, disheveled looks and  results of field sobriety tests.  In Iowa you have the right to refuse the field sobriety tests as well as the roadside breath test.  The sobriety test results are subjective and the hand held breath tester results are not allowed into court as evidence.  Refusing both of these tests will not cause you to incur any penalties.  If after being stopped, the situation proceeds to the level of the officer asking you to take the tests, you probably will be arrested no matter what the results.  The officer began building a case against you as soon as you were stopped.  Once you arrive at the police station you’ll be asked again to take a breath or chemical test.  Refusal of the test this time will cause your license to be immediately suspended for 1 year.  It is important to speak with an attorney for advice before making this decision.  You do have the right to contact an attorney before submitting to the test.

You will be presented with two simultaneous cases upon your arrest.  A civil case regarding your license suspension will be among the first issues to deal with.  You must request a hearing within 10 days of your arrest to contest your license suspension.  Failure to do so will result in an automatic suspension of your license for the requisite period with no opportunity for recourse.  Your criminal case will be adjudicated in court.  This will deal with jail time, fines and fees, and any remedial alcohol education programs that are required.  Your OWI attorney will be experienced in how best to defend you.

The laws covering OWI are complex and difficult for the average person to understand.  The public awareness of the dangers of drunk driving has encouraged legislators to pass newer and stronger laws pertaining to OWI in recent years.  Because of the intricacy of OWI and DUI laws across the nation, the practice of defending OWI has evolved into a specialized field of practice, as ordained by the American Bar Association.  An OWI attorney will not only be familiar with the local laws, but will be able to defend against scientific evidence presented in court.  A skilled Iowa OWI attorney can present your best option for a positive result.  You should reach out to a local attorney as soon as possible for a free consultation.  The sooner you find an attorney, the quicker the attorney will be able to request discovery material and begin preparing your case.  Don’t take a chance on your future.  A conviction remains on your record permanently and will follow you from state to state. It is highly recommended that you contact a local OWI attorney right away for a free consultation on your case.

IOWA is a member of the
INTERSTATE DRIVER'S LICENSE COMPACT

If you are arrested outside your home state, be sure to ask your attorney how this law will impact you.


The penalties listed below are called for by statute, are not complete, and can often be removed or reduced significantly with the assistance of a local Iowa OWI attorney.

 

FIRST OFFENSE
• Incarceration – minimum 48 hours up to 1 year
• Fines – up to $1,500 plus court costs
• License Suspension – up to 180 days; 1 year for test refusal; reinstatement penalty $200
• Insurance – SR22 high-risk driver insurance required; necessary before license reinstatement

ADDITIONAL COSTS AND CONSEQUENCES
• Bail – set by the court, required for release
• Towing – tow fee $75 to $100 plus daily storage fees
• Insurance – you will be designated as a high risk driver and your insurance will increase significantly.  Expect your rates to double or more.
• Record – DUI conviction will remain on driving record permanently
• Employment – offender may lose time off work and possibly even their job.
• Immigration and travel – restrictions can apply for  foreign travel, including Canada

Additional offenses and considerations will bring significantly higher penalties including up to 5 years in prison and $7,500 in fines.  Don’t take a chance with your freedom.  It is highly recommended that you contact a qualified DUI attorney right away for a FREE CONSULTATION on your case.  It is possible that your case CAN be won with the right representation.

Iowa Counties


© 2017 goDWI All Rights Reserved