ARE YOU A DUI ATTORNEY?
Find out how to join our network

Find a Local DUI Lawyer

State

City

 

In Idaho, you have
7 days to act!

In Idaho, you only have 7 days for your attorney to request a hearing to contest your license suspension. Failure to do so will result in an automatic suspension with no further recourse available.

Fact:

More than 12,000 citizens are arrested for DUI each year in Idaho. Some of them ask their brother in law the recent law school graduate to handle their DUI case.

Nobody makes good decisions 100% of the time. Don't take chances. Contact an experienced DUI attorney for a free consultation.

.

Most Searched Cities

Find an Idaho DUI Attorney

City
OR
County

Information on DUI in Idaho

You have 7 days to request a hearing to prevent the loss of your license.

Idaho’s drunk driving laws are among the strictest in the nation.  Hard lobbying and public awareness campaigns by groups such as MADD have had a monumental effect on getting existing laws strengthened and new ones passed.  Driving while under the influence of alcohol, drugs, or any other substance is a concept the public is squarely against, and the result is that MADD has ranked Idaho’s DUI laws as #5 strictest in the country.  A DUI or DWI is now a serious criminal offense.  If you are facing a DUI or DWI in Idaho, you’re probably feeling stressed out, angry and frightened about what is to come next.  The laws are entwined into such a complex web it is not practical for the average person to be able to understand all of the issues involved.  You should be represented by a skilled DUI attorney with experience in the local laws and the science associated with defending them.  A qualified attorney will be able to advise you on the status of your case and put together a game plan for your defense.  It is imperative that you reach out to a local DUI attorney right away for a free consultation regarding your case.

Under Idaho’s ‘per se’ law you will be charged and arrested for operating a vehicle with a BAC (blood alcohol content) of .08 or higher.   You can also be arrested for driving while under the influence of alcohol, drugs or both, to a degree that you are unable to safely operate the vehicle.  The officer will base this type of arrest on observations of your driving, roadside tests, and things such as bloodshot eyes or alcohol on your breath.  Once arrested, you’ll be handcuffed and driven to the police station or jail where you will be fingerprinted, photographed and booked.  Your license will be suspended immediately and you will have only 7 days to request a hearing with the DMV to contest your suspension.  Failure to do so will result in automatic suspension of your license with no further recourse.  This hearing with the DMV is the first step in the civil case against you.  The DMV will administrate your license suspension and reinstatement along with associated fees.  The other case is a criminal case and will be tried in court.  The court case will determine jail time, fines and fees, and any remedial alcohol or drug treatment programs. 

You should not consider going through the legal process without the help of a qualified DUI attorney who knows the system and who will make sure you are treated fairly.  Don’t take a chance on your freedom or your future.  A DUI or DWI conviction stays on your record forever.  The sooner you find an attorney, the quicker your defense can begin.  Contact an experienced local DUI attorney right away for a free consultation regarding your case.  Free means free. 

IDAHO is a member of the
INTERSTATE DRIVER'S LICENSE COMPACT

If you are arrested outside your home state, be sure to ask your attorney how this law will impact you.

The penalties listed below are called for by statute, are not complete, and can often be removed or reduced significantly with the assistance of a local Idaho DUI attorney.

FIRST OFFENSE
• Incarceration –up to 6 months jail
• Fines – up to $1,000 plus court costs
• License Suspension – up to 180 days; reinstatement fee of $25 to $285
• Insurance – SR22 high-risk driver insurance required for 3 years; necessary before license reinstatement
   

ADDITIONAL COSTS AND CONSEQUENCES
• Bail – set by the court, required for release
• Towing – tow fee $75 to $100 plus additional fee for daily storage
• Insurance – you will be designated as a high risk driver and your insurance will increase significantly.  Expect your rates to double or more.
• Record – DUI conviction will remain on driving record permanently
• Employment – offender may lose time off work and possibly even their job.
• Immigration and travel – restrictions can apply with certain convictions


Additional offenses and considerations will bring significantly higher penalties up to 5 years jail time and $5,000 in fines.  Don’t take a chance with your freedom.  It is highly recommended that you contact a qualified DUI attorney right away for a FREE CONSULTATION on your case.  It is possible that your case CAN be won with the right representation.
 

Idaho Counties


© 2017 goDWI All Rights Reserved