ARE YOU A DUI ATTORNEY?
Find out how to join our network

Find a Local DUI Lawyer

State

City

 

In Florida, you have
10 days to act!

In Florida, you only have 10 days for your attorney to request a hearing to contest your license suspension. Failure to do so will result in an automatic suspension with no further recourse available

Fact:

More than 53,000 citizens are arrested for DUI each year in Florida. Some of them ask their brother in law, the recent law school graduate to handle their DUI case.

Nobody makes good decisions 100% of the time. Don't take chances. Contact an experienced DUI attorney for a free consultation.

.

Most Searched Cities

Find a Florida DUI Attorney

City
OR
County

Information on DUI in Florida

You must request a hearing within 10 days or you forfeit your license for 1 year

Confronting a DUI in Florida is a daunting concept for anyone.  If you are currently facing a DUI, chances are you really aren’t very familiar with the legal proceedings you’re going to have to deal with.    In the last 50 years, Florida population has exploded with a 475% increase, while the nation’s population as a whole has only increased 175%.  Because of the huge influx of drivers, Florida lawmakers have been busy passing laws, more laws, and laws that affect laws.  The DUI laws weave a complex web that is difficult to decipher for the average person.  As the laws have gotten more complex, the defense of the laws has evolved into a sophisticated, specialized area of law practice.  A qualified local Florida DUI attorney offers the best opportunity for your case to be settled to your advantage.

You should be aware that if you’re prosecuted for a DUI, you will be facing two different and largely unaffiliated legal cases.  The first case will be tried in a criminal court and it will involve jail time, fines and fees, and remedial education classes.  The second case will run concurrently and is an administrative case run by the DMV.  This will determine your license suspension, reinstatement or revocation, as well as adding points to your driver’s license.  These two cases have penalties that don’t affect the other, but your actions are subject to the laws of each case.  For instance, if you refuse a breath test, that can be used against you in the criminal court case and your lawyer can fight it and often have it removed from evidence in court.  However, the DMV case still says that your refusal will automatically cause you to lose your license for a minimum of 1 year.  Complicated?  Yes.  Your actions and words will be judged in two different forums.  Don’t even think of going to court without getting a free consultation from a qualified local DUI attorney.  This is not a time to bargain with your freedom.  A conviction will stay on your record forever.

FLORIDA is a member of the
INTERSTATE DRIVER'S LICENSE COMPACT

If you are arrested outside your home state, be sure to ask your attorney how this law will impact you.

The penalties set out below are general guidelines as determined by Florida law, and represent minimum penalties for a DUI with a BAC (breath alcohol content) of .08.  The courts are bound by them and they don’t offer much leeway, but you should know it is absolutely possible to win your case.

FIRST OFFENSE
• Incarceration – up to 6 months. At court’s discretion, time may be served in a residential alcohol or drug treatment program
• Fines – $500 to $1,000
• License Suspension – minimum 180 days up to 1 year
• Limited License Application – must complete DUI school first; application will not be considered until  offender has served 30 days without license or permit
• Insurance – SR22 insurance required.  Informs DMV you are insured and advises insurance company you have a DUI.  Insurance company advises DMV if your policy ever lapses.  Must carry SR22 insurance for 1 to 3 years. 
• Probation – up to 1 year
• Community Service – minimum 50 hours, or fine of $10 per hour community service required

ADDITIONAL COSTS AND CONSEQUENCES
• Bail – set by the court, required before being released after being arrested
• Impoundment -10 days unless family of offender has no other transportation.  Impoundment may not occur concurrently with incarceration.  Towing and daily impound fees also apply
• Forced Blood Test – if there was an accident involving serious injury or death, offender will be required by force, including restraint, to have blood drawn
• DUI School - completion of an approved  program at $263 cost to you
• Insurance –As a designated “high risk” driver, your insurance company will raise your rates significantly.  Expect your insurance rates to double or more for several years.
• Record – DUI conviction will remain on driving record permanently
• Employment – offender may lose time off work and possibly even their job.
• Immigration and travel – restrictions can apply with certain convictions
• Vehicle – possible vehicle seizure for multiple violations

Additional offenses will bring significantly higher penalties, up to 5 years in prison and $5,000 in fines.  Don’t take a chance with your freedom.  It is highly recommended that you contact a qualified local DUI attorney right away for a FREE CONSULTATION on your case.  Your case CAN be won with the right representation. 

Florida Counties


© 2017 goDWI All Rights Reserved