ARE YOU A DUI ATTORNEY?
Find out how to join our network

Find a Local DUI Lawyer

State

City

 

In Connecticut, you have
7 days to act!

In Connecticut, you only have 7 days for your attorney to request a hearing to contest your license suspension. Failure to do so will result in an automatic suspension with no further recourse available

Did You Know?

These things can cause a false result in a breath test:
• Mints
• Gum disease
• Wonder Bread
• High protein diets
• A recent burp
• Dentures
• A tongue piercing

Don't let your freedom and reputation depend on faulty test results. Contact a qualified DUI attorney today for a free consultation.

.

Most Searched Cities

Find a Connecticut DUI Attorney

City
OR
County

Information on DUI in Connecticut

REQUEST A HEARING IN 7 DAYS OR LOSE YOUR LICENSE

If you are facing a DUI in Connecticut, you’re about to embark on a journey through legal issues you may have never faced before.  A DUI can be intimidating and frightening when you aren’t familiar with what is ahead.  You should take your DUI very seriously, as it is considered a menacing crime by the state and is prosecuted as such.  The legal BAC (blood alcohol content) for driving in Connecticut is .08 for adults, .04 for commercial drivers, and .02 for minors under 21.  A dui can impose jail time, large fines, court fees, loss of license and can result in a permanent mark on your record.  If you happen to work at a job where driving is required, it could even cause you to lose your job.  This DUI process is best not handled alone.  You should contact a DUI attorney as soon as possible for a free consultation about your case.

The state can choose to prosecute you on two fronts for a DUI.  You can be charged if the peace officer is of the opinion that you are unable to safely control your vehicle due to impairment of alcohol, drugs, or both.    The National Highway Transportation and Safety Board has comprised a list of factors for officers to note when imposing this judgment.  Some of them are weaving, erratic braking, headlights off, abrupt turning, and about a dozen more.  Once the officer is behind you, you are being observed.  Once you are stopped, the officer is now building a case against you.  This justification for arrest is not contingent upon any breath or chemical alcohol tests.  You can also be arrested based upon your BAC, as the state has a “per se” law which states that your BAC can not be .08 or higher.  This law does not consider driving impairment.  The laws are intricately entwined and are not easily understood by most.  You can be charged under both methods under Connecticut law.  A qualified DUI attorney who specializes in Connecticut DUI law can become your best ally when you need to fight your case. 

You will be facing an administrative case managed by the DMV, which will oversee your license suspension, reinstatement, revocation and points on your driving license.  After your arrest, you must request a hearing to contest your license suspension within 7 days or your license will automatically be forfeited for the legal time allowed.  At the same time, you will be tried in criminal court, where the court will determine jail time, fines and court fees, and any alcohol or drug treatment education programs. 

Your freedom and your future are not things to be gambled with.  It is advisable that you find a DUI attorney that you are comfortable with ASAP in order to protect yourself.  A free consultation costs nothing, but doing nothing can bring grave consequences.

CONNECTICUT is a member of the
INTERSTATE DRIVER'S LICENSE COMPACT

If you are arrested outside your home state, be sure to ask your attorney how this law will impact you.

The penalties listed below are called for by statute, are not complete, and can often be reduced significantly with the assistance of a local Connecticut DUI attorney.

 

FIRST OFFENSE
• Incarceration
– mandatory 48 hrs up to 60 days. Jail time may be suspended for community service (below)
• Fines –  $500 to $1,000
• License Suspension – 1 year
• Insurance – SR22 high risk policy required for 3 years
• Community Service – 100 hour if offered by court in lieu of up to 60 days jail sentence

ADDITIONAL COSTS AND CONSEQUENCES
• Bail – set by the court, required before being released after being arrested
• Towing and Impound – impounded for 48 hours, towing fee approximately $100 plus additional daily storage fees
• Insurance –as a designated “high risk” driver, your rates will be raised significantly by your insurance company and your policy can even be dropped.
• Record – DUI conviction will remain on driving record permanently
• Employment – offender may lose time off work and possibly even their job.
• Immigration and travel – restrictions can apply with certain convictions

Additional offenses will bring significantly higher penalties, up to 8 years in prison and $10,000 in fines.  Don’t take a chance with your freedom.  It is highly recommended that you contact a qualified local DUI attorney right away for a FREE CONSULTATION on your case.  It is possible your case CAN be won with the right representation.

Connecticut Counties


© 2017 goDWI All Rights Reserved