ARE YOU A DUI ATTORNEY?
Find out how to join our network

Find a Local DUI Lawyer

State

City

 

In Arizona, you have
15 days to act!

In Arizona, you only have 15 days for your attorney to request a hearing to contest your license suspension. Failure to do so will result in an automatic suspension with no further recourse available

FACT:

Each year, more than 39,000 citizens are arrested for DUI in Arizona. Some of them ask the recent law school grad from next door to handle their DUI case.

Nobody makes good decisions 100% of the time. Don't take chances. Contact an experienced DUI attorney today for a free consultation.

.

Most Searched Cities

Find an Arizona DUI Attorney

City
OR
County

Information on DUI in Arizona

REQUEST A HEARING WITHIN 15 DAYS OR LOSE YOUR LICENSE

Arizona has some of the strictest DUI laws in the nation, and aggressive enforcement is keeping the state near the top of the “most safe” list.  Chances are you have never been arrested for a DUI before and you are probably bewildered as to what you should do next.  The laws are not only strict, they are very complicated.  Some laws are dependent on others, and some stand alone except for those times when they don’t.  See?  As DUI enforcement has grown across the country, so has the complexity and sophistication of the web of laws associated with it.  No longer a mere traffic infraction, a DUI is now a serious criminal offense which should not be taken lightly.  The legal practice of defending DUI cases has also had to evolve through the years, and now it requires a specialized DUI attorney to know how to fight these cases in court and win them.  The feelings of uncertainty you have are not uncommon.  DUI affects people from all social and economic walks of life, including doctors, teachers, actors, clerks and housewives.  These are often people who have no prior record at all, yet now face the possibility of a criminal record with a DUI conviction.  It is said that a DUI is the one crime that instantly “turns non-criminals into criminals”.  A wise decision is to contact a qualified local Arizona DUI attorney right away for a free consultation about your case.  You have nothing to lose by calling, but could lose your freedom if you don’t. 

After your arrest, the state will commence two separate legal cases against you.  The first case will be handled in criminal court and will hand down jail time, fees and fines, and remedial alcohol education programs.  The other case will be administrated by the MVD and will pertain to license suspension, reinstatement and revocation, and the points added to your license.  These two cases are not affiliated with one another, so if one case excuses you for an offense, the other case may not.  The legal limit for driving under the influence in Arizona is .08 BAC (blood alcohol content) and if you meet this threshold in a breath test, you will be arrested, handcuffed, and taken to jail for processing.  You’ll be fingerprinted, photographed, and likely asked to take more chemical tests.  The court case says you don’t have to submit to the chemical or breath tests even though they can use that refusal against you in court.  But the MVD case against you will automatically suspend your license for a longer period of time than if you did submit.  Confusing?  Yes it is. Get proper representation from a local DUI attorney today. A free consultation about your case will answer your questions and advise you of your options.  Contact a DUI attorney today and get some peace of mind.

ARIZONA is a member of the
INTERSTATE DRIVER'S LICENSE COMPACT

If you are arrested outside your home state, be sure to ask your attorney how this law will impact you.

The penalties listed below are called for by statute, are not complete, and can often be removed or reduced significantly with the assistance of a local Arizona DUI attorney.


FIRST OFFENSE
• Incarceration
– 10 days to 6 months in jail
• Fines – up to $2,500, including $500 to DPS and $500 to AZ prison construction fund l
• License Suspension – minimum 90 days
• Ignition Interlock Device – after 90 day suspension, then required for 1 year at your expense, approx. $1,000
• Insurance – SR22 insurance required by MVD for chemical test refusal.   Insurance company advises DMV if your policy ever lapses.  Must carry SR22 insurance for 3 years. 
• Probation – up to 5 years
• Community Service – as determined by the court

ADDITIONAL COSTS AND CONSEQUENCES
• Bail – set by the court, required before being released after being arrested
• Tow and Impound – 30 days for BAC .15, $150 impound fee, plus $100 towing, plus daily storage fees approx $30/day
• Insurance –as a designated “high risk” driver, your insurance company will raise your rates significantly. 
• Record – DUI conviction will remain on driving record permanently
• Employment – offender may lose time off work and possibly even their job.
• Immigration and travel – restrictions can apply with certain convictions
• Vehicle – possible vehicle seizure for certain violations

Additional offenses will bring significantly higher penalties, up to 10 years in prison and $150,000 in fines.  Don’t take a chance with your freedom.  It is highly recommended that you contact a qualified local DUI attorney right away for a FREE CONSULTATION on your case.  It is possible your case CAN be won with the right representation.

Arizona Counties


© 2017 goDWI All Rights Reserved