ARE YOU A DUI ATTORNEY?
Find out how to join our network

Find a Local DUI Lawyer

State

City

 

In Alaska, you have
7 days to act!

In Alaska, you only have 7 days for your attorney to request a hearing to contest your license suspension. Failure to do so will result in an automatic suspension with no further recourse available.

Question

Would you trust your family doctor to perform a heart transplant?

Find a specialist. Don't take chances on anything but the best. Contact a qualified DUI attorney today for a free consultation.

.

Most Searched Cities

Find an Alaska DUI Attorney

City
OR
County

Information on DUI in Alaska

REQUEST A HEARING WITHIN 7 DAYS OR LOSE YOUR LICENSE

In Alaska, as in all states, the legal limit for being considered intoxicated is a BAC (blood alcohol content) of .08.  A DUI is a serious offense which can bring jail time, court fees, large fines and a loss of your license.  If you’re not stressed about it, you probably should be.   The penalties are particularly punitive and the laws are aggressively enforced.  This is a time when you need a crack legal team on your side with extensive DUI experience.  Because laws today are so complex and entwined, most attorneys settle on a special field of practice, be it criminal law, real estate, probate or another field.  DUI Defense Law is a specialty area of law practice, as determined by the American Bar Association.  You should not consider entering a court room without a qualified Indiana DUI attorney by your side.  The stakes are too high.  It is highly recommended that you contact a local DUI attorney as soon as possible for a free consultation on your case to get your questions answered.  You only have 7 days after your arrest to make a written request for a hearing to contest your license suspension.  Your DUI attorney should accompany you to that hearing.

There are actually two methods by which you can be charged with DUI in Alaska.  You can be charged under Alaska’s “per se” law, which only addresses the amount of liquor or drugs in your system.  Or you can also charged if the peace officer determines that you are unable to safely control your vehicle because you’re impaired.  Note that the first method has nothing to do with your driving, and the second has nothing to do with your BAC level.   With either method, you will be asked to take a breath, blood or urine test to determine your BAC level.  If you refuse the test, you will be faced with additional license suspension time. 

Once you are arrested, you will face two cases presented against you.  One will be a court case, determining jail time, fines and fees, and any remedial driving education required.  The other is an administrative case which only deals with your license suspension, reinstatement and points against your license.  The system is complicated.   Don’t take a chance on your future and your right to drive.  A conviction stays on your record.   Contact a DUI attorney today for a free consultation about your case.  The sooner that you hire an attorney, the more time they will have to prepare your case properly.  Time is of the essence.

ALASKA is a member of the
INTERSTATE DRIVER'S LICENSE COMPACT

If you are arrested outside your home state, be sure to ask your attorney how this law will impact you.

The penalties listed below are called for by statute, are not complete, and can often be removed or reduced significantly with the assistance of a local Alaska DUI attorney.

FIRST OFFENSE
• Incarceration – minimum 72 hours jail plus $270 “cost of imprisonment” fee
• Fines – minimum $1,500 plus court costs
• License Revocation – 90 days plus reinstatement fee $200
• Limited License Application – possible after 30 days revocation, and must have ignition interlock device
• Education – alcohol evaluation mandatory plus any program recommended by evaluation, at your expense
• Insurance – SR22 high-risk driver insurance required for 5 years; necessary before license reinstatement

ADDITIONAL COSTS AND CONSEQUENCES
• Bail – set by the court, required for release
• Towing – tow fee $75 to $100 plus additional fee for daily storage
• Insurance – you will be designated as a high risk driver and your insurance will increase significantly.  Expect your rates to double or more.
• Record – DUI conviction will remain on driving record permanently
• Employment – offender may lose time off work and possibly even their job.
• Immigration and travel – restrictions can apply with certain convictions
• Vehicle Forfeiture – at court’s discretion


Additional offenses and considerations will bring significantly higher penalties up to 1 year in jail and fines of $7,000.  Don’t take a chance with your freedom.  It is highly recommended that you contact a qualified DUI attorney right away for a FREE CONSULTATION on your case.  our case CAN be won with the right representation.

Alaska Counties


© 2017 goDWI All Rights Reserved