ARE YOU A DUI ATTORNEY?
Find out how to join our network

Find a Local DUI Lawyer

State

City

 

In Alabama, you have
10 days to act!

In Alabama, you only have 10 days for your attorney to request a hearing to contest your license suspension. Failure to do so will result in an automatic suspension with no further recourse available.

FACT:

You can be charged with a DUI in Alabama even if you have decided to stay off the roadways and sleep it off in your car.

Get your questions answered. Contact an experienced DUI attorney for a free consultation.

.

Most Searched Cities

Find an Alabama DUI Attorney

City
OR
County

Information on DUI in Alabama:

Request a hearing within 10 days or lose your license. Period.

If you are facing a DUI in Alabama you are probably a little frightened, a little angry and probably confused about what you’re about to encounter.  The drunk driving laws are strict in Alabama and they’re aggressively enforced.  In fact, the state recently made a special grant of $230,000 to target DUI offenders.   DUI is now considered a serious crime and is treated as such.  For your first offense, you could face up to a year in jail, thousands of dollars in fines and the loss of your driver’s license.  It is important that you consider the charge seriously and get a lawyer who you can trust to protect you and make sure you get fair treatment.  An attorney who is experienced specifically with DUI defense will know the law and the system. 

In Alabama, as in all states, driving with a BAC (blood alcohol content) of .08 is a crime and a chargeable offense.  This charge has nothing at all to do with your driving, because alcohol affects everyone differently and your driving could have been perfect.  It merely addresses a legal standard of .08 BAC.  You can also be charged without having taken a breath or blood test at all.  The peace officer only has to believe you are under the influence of alcohol or other substances to the degree that you are sufficiently impaired to operate your vehicle.  You may have been observed driving erratically and judged on several factors such as crossing the center line, driving without headlights, repeated braking or slow acceleration at an intersection.  Note that this standard is based on the officer’s observations only and not on any type of scientific test such as blood or breath.  You should know that if you are asked questions or asked to perform any field sobriety tests, it is your legal right to refuse.  We are trained from childhood to be polite to the police, but remember, as soon as you are stopped, the officer has begun building a case against you and everything you say or do will be taken into consideration

Upon your arrest, you will face a court case to determine jail time, fines and court costs, and any required alcohol education programs.  You will also be presented   with a simultaneous administrative case by the Alabama DPS which will manage your license suspension and any points against your driving record.  Appearing in court to fight charges, filing motions and cross examining officers and witnesses is best left to those who do it every day.  Don’t take a chance on your freedom and your future.  Contact a qualified Alabama DUI attorney for a free consultation right away.

ALABAMA is a member of the
INTERSTATE DRIVER'S LICENSE COMPACT

If you are arrested outside your home state, be sure to ask your attorney how this law will impact you.

The penalties listed below are called for by statute, are not complete, and can often be removed or reduced significantly with the assistance of an experienced DUI attorney.

FIRST OFFENSE

  • Incarceration – up to 1 year in jail
  • Fines – $500 to $2,000, plus $100 for Impaired Drivers Trust Fund
  • License Suspension – mandatory 90 days plus additional 90 days for test refusal.  Reinstatement fee of $275
  • Education – required alcohol education program at your expense
  • Insurance – SR22 high-risk driver insurance required before license reinstatement  

ADDITIONAL COSTS AND CONSEQUENCES

  • Bail – set by the court, required before being released after being arrested, additional nighttime bail fee $50
  • Towing – tow fee approximately $75 plus daily storage fee
  • Insurance –As a designated “high risk” driver, your insurance company will raise your rates significantly.  Expect your insurance rates to double or more.
  • Record – DUI conviction will remain on driving record permanently
  • Employment – offender may lose time off work and possibly even their job.
  • Immigration and travel – restrictions can apply with certain convictions

Additional offenses will bring significantly higher penalties, up to 10 years in prison and $20,200 in fines.  Don’t take a chance with your freedom.  It is highly recommended that you contact a qualified DUI attorney for a FREE CONSULTATION on your case.  Your case CAN be won with the right representation.

 

Alabama Counties


© 2017 goDWI All Rights Reserved